Into the Woods: Books About the Scary Things That Lurk in the Woods


From the beginning of time, humans have always seemed to be afraid of the woods. In many ways, dark forests have always represented the unknown, and we have long imagined the various terrifying creatures that may hide there. For some, the beast in the woods is a supernatural terror, while for others the threat of a fellow person in the woods is horror enough. In honor of Halloween, here are fourteen books about the scary things you may find in the woods.

Read more

World War II Fiction: For Fans of The Nightingale, All the Light We Cannot See, and Lilac Girls


Books like The Nightingale All the Light We Cannot See, and Lilac Girls have taken the literary world by storm. If you’ve already made your way through these instant classics and are looking for similar heartfelt, character-driven books that take place during World War II, look no further. We’ve created this list of read-alikes just for you.

Read more

Mysterious Reads: Mysteries and Thrillers That Will Keep You Guessing

What makes a book impossible to put down? For fans of mystery and crime fiction, the answer is a good story, plenty of twists, and a mystery that keeps you on your toes. If you fall under this category, or if you’d like to find a book that keeps you guessing, here is a list of thriller and mystery books to appease your inner detective.

Read more

Epic Fantasy: Books to Fill the Game of Thrones-Sized Hole in Your Heart.

Just a few weeks ago, the HBO blockbuster hit Game of Thrones aired its final episode. Over the course of the eighth season, fans attempted to ready themselves for a world where Sunday nights would no longer be spent in Westeros. Regardless of how you feel about the show’s final choices (because we all have a thing or two to say about that finale), you probably are finding yourself looking for the next place to get your epic fantasy fix.

Fear not, because we’ve compiled a list—made by epic fantasy fans for epic fantasy fans—of several different epic fantasy series that will fill that Game of Thrones-sized hole in your heart. Each title listed is the first book in the series.

Read more

Famous Voices: Audiobooks Read by Celebrities

Audiobooks have had somewhat of a renaissance in the past ten years, especially since the development of streaming audiobooks through library resources like Overdrive. Typically read by either the author or a voice actor, some books are able to secure some major star power for their audiobook narration. Here are some spectacular works of fiction narrated by Hollywood’s best and brightest actors.

Note: this list does not include audiobooks of celebrity memoirs, which are almost always narrated by the celebrity (as they are also the author of the book).

Read more

Rainy Day Reads: April Showers Bring Book-Filled Hours

What makes a good rainy day read? For some, it’s the sort of beautiful, introspective novel that reflects the feeling of finding a comfy place to read and enjoying some alone time. For others, it’s a book that grabs your attention from the first line and refuses to let go until the very last page, engrossing you in its world and letting you forget the dreary weather.

With plenty of rain in the forecast, here are some great rainy day books to for all manner of readers.
Read more

What’s Past is Prologue: Shakespeare in Modern Fiction

William Shakespeare. The man, the bard. How has a man who died over 400 years ago remained relevant? Though not everyone’s cup of tea, Shakespeare has demonstrated an impressive staying power in both his persona and his works. Films like West Side Story, The Lion King, and My Own Private Idaho keep the basic plots of Romeo and Juliet, Hamlet, and Henry V, but update the stories so they make sense to modern audiences. Other films like Shakespeare in Love feature Shakespeare as a character, imagining what life was like for the Queen’s favorite playwright.

This trend also extends to modern fiction, where books often feature Shakespeare in a variety of ways. Sometimes his plays are reimagined in a new, innovative story; sometimes Shakespeare’s personal adventures are explored, and other times Shakespeare exists in fiction as he exists today: an incredibly important and resilient linchpin in English literature. With his birthday less than a month away, read more to find some Shakespearean books that you can check out in his honor.

Read more

From Screen to Page: Six Great Books Based on Movies

In a time where almost every new movie seems to be based on a book or some other form of source material, a particular refrain has grown common among readers everywhere: “the book was better.” But there are still rare scenarios in which a movie is turned into a book after its release, often as an adaptation of the screenplay.

These adaptations are not always good, and are often ignored by literature fans due to their Hollywood connections. However, some novelizations have managed to rise above this stereotype, with some even becoming equally as famous as the films that spawned them. Here are six books based on movies that are actually worth the read.

Read more

Defeat the Winter Blues with Some Good Books

With the winter season now in full swing, the excitement and beauty of snow tends to be overshadowed by the less attractive parts of winter: it’s cold, it’s dark, and most time is spent indoors. If you find that you’re struggling to feel like yourself this season, you’re not alone. Studies show that over 20% of the population deals with varying forms of the winter blues¹.

Here are some great books to help get you out of a seasonal funk, bring back your confidence, or maybe just put a smile on your face.

Read more

Staff Picks: Best of 2018

As 2018 comes to a close, we wanted to look back on the great books and films that were released this year. Many big news sources like GQ, The Washington Post, and Publisher’s Weekly have announced their picks for the best of 2018, but how do these lists measure up to the favorites of our staff? Here are some of the Sewickley Library staff’s favorite books and movies from 2018!

Read more